My favourite Islam

Few thinkers are jewels in my understanding of Islam. I want to present you the five I prefer who write, speak and teach in French. In Spanish is much more easy: only Abdennur Prado and Ndeye Andújar will I name here. I respect them as friends and as a big brother, and my only sweet sister I never had before. They know it. Mâ shâ Al-lâh.

In the French culture, I heard by TV and web Houria Bouteldja, linked with Les Indigènes de la République. She’s more concern with social and political issues rather than with textual studies of the Muslim faith and the Coran. I saw her almost in TV program Ce soir ou jamais. She puts on the debate the big principles -often forgotten- of Equality in Rights for all the people in France.

Houria Bouteldja

Another thinker I admire is Dounia Bouzar. She has an excellent preparation and formation in the main Human Sciences. She can speak easily about the real situations and jump till something more abstract. She argues that the Coranic Text is only interesting for the society where we live together for his human interpretation, not by himself, and I agree with her, naturally.

Dounia Bouzar

Rachid Benzine is the author of the wonderful essay Les Nouveaux Penseurs de l’Islam, a complete and well written introduction of the main reformers in Islam of the last half of the past century. He’s a disciple of the great philosopher Mohammed Arkoun. He did not cut the bridges with serious Muslims of the old school, but he knows well the steps the sunnis have to follow in the secular context of the actual Europe and worldwide.

Rachid Benzine

Mohammed Taleb will not present himself as a Muslim thinker, despite the fact that he did a brilliant scoop on the furusiya, the arab courtesy, and the challenge of the altermondialisme in the battle against discriminations, colonialism, imperialism and the capitalistic control of our imageries. I heard him two times in Geneva, and I’m still thinking on his clever focus on the biotechnologies and the relations with broad powers of the Christian Zionists.

Mohammed Taleb

Abdelwahab Meddeb is a poet, a literature’s professor. Reading him I liberate myself from the orthopraxis.

Abdelwahab Meddeb

Just later, I read Self Islam, a testimony wrote by Abdennour Bidar. My Islam found his five pilars, and Self Islam was the proof that someone else did another similar journey.

Now, as you know, I’m less Muslim than Islamist, actually a Dogmatic Situationnist Islamist. Yes, the Capital in Image is a Dâr al-Harb, and the War is only the mirror, the material side of the Human obscurantism. My task? Peace, Freedom, Perfection. You may call me Abenyusuf, my country is Al-Andalus, or Spain. My King is Juan Carlos I and my Lord is Al-lâh.

2 comentarios

Archivado bajo al-Andalus, islam, Literature's Theory, Poetry

2 Respuestas a “My favourite Islam

  1. History of Al Andalus

    Forgive me for a comment not related to the post. There is an excellent new blog dedicated to a book called: *An Incomplete History
    The Muslims of Spain Post 1492 in a Global Context and its Relevance to Muslims Today*

    http://historyofandalus.wordpress.com/

    The situation of the Muslims living in the West today poses a striking similarity to the situation of the Muslims in Al- Andalus post 1492 (when the last Muslim ruler surrendered the last Muslim stronghold of Granada to King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella). This marked the official end to Islamic rule in Al- Andalus. However, this did not mean all the Muslims left Al Andalus in one go.

    Muslims lived in Andalus for at least two hundred years after the fall (1492). Their lives were not easy. In many cases they were forced to give up their identities, could not practice Islam in public, they were not allowed to speak Arabic (and therefore could not pray in congregation) or even give their children Muslim names! So what began as tolerance for the practice of Islam in Al- Andalus and allowing for their affairs to be judged under Shari’ah courts (Capitulations of Granada) slowly but surely led to the persecution of the Muslims of Al-Andalus until no trace of Muslims in Andalus was to be found.

  2. Pingback: La inadmisible inteligencia de Tariq Ramadan

Responder

